Home > updates > Dog Latin

Dog Latin

I had some spare time today and I’ve been translating and transcribing Saber’s powers, and their Japanese and Latin names, sans the power descriptions I haven’t earned and her Noble Phantasm, because I want to find out in the game for myself.

But at some point apparently Nasu figured “Europe=Latin lol” and then mixed French into a third of the power names. The result is a bastardization of Lingua Latina the likes of which I have not seen since J.K. Rowling outsold the fucking Bible.

Notable updates:

  • Created Archer (Enemy) page. Blank for now while I work on other things.
  • Updated Powers section of Saber page
  • Updated Powers section of Rider page
Categories: updates
  1. December 24, 2010 at 06:02

    I didn’t particularly try to find this out, but how much of Fate/Extra is by Nasu? Is it all him??

    • Curtis
      December 24, 2010 at 11:40

      Originally he only wrote the general plot and setting and left the rest to Marvelous (sort of like the dozens of “Tom Clancy” novels that aren’t really by Tom Clancy), but it’s a funny story – according to the producer’s devlog, at one point late in the development cycle Nasu took a look at the game and went “lolwut is this, let me show you how you write a real story” and then went and rewrote the majority of the text and dialogue for the whole game. So then he became the primary scenario writer after that and I suspect it’s part of the reason why the game got delayed half a year, and why almost all media showing any actual gameplay didn’t appear until the couple of months leading up to release.

  2. December 24, 2010 at 18:05

    Oh, I see.

    So I guess it can all be filed under lolnasu then. ^^;

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

